Click to toggle navigation menu.
search
Donate
Learn more about why we're here.
Click to play video.

Our Mission

At the Social Justice Learning Institute, we are dedicated to improving the education, health, and well being of youth and communities of color by empowering them to enact social change through research, training, and community mobilization.

Core Values

  • We privilege the ideas, voice, and leadership of our youth and community members.
  • Everyone must be afforded equal opportunity in order to achieve equitable treatment.
  • We do all things in love.
  • No one is hopeless.

Our Vision

We envision communities where education empowers individuals to use their agency for the purpose of improving each other’s lives.

Our Goals

Our goals are simple. We work to:

  • Educate and empower youth and community members to identify and rectify injustice
  • Build capacity for individuals and communities to advocate for their needs.
  • Deliver effective programs, resources and support that help advance our mission
  • Train and build leaders.

Our Impact

Empowering through Education

1619 Students served through Urban Scholars

250 Healthy Lifestyle Classes taught per year

32 College campuses where our students have enrolled

Creating Thriving Communities

103 Gardens built in the
Los Angeles Area

1867 Pounds of produce distributed per year

52000 Pounds of produce diverted from landfills per year

Changing Systems

Ending the school-to-prison pipeline

  • Increased Restorative Justice funding in LAUSD

  • Passed Prop 47 to reduce non-violent drug-related felonies to misdemeanors

  • Led a $90 million bond campaign to improve Inglewood schools

 

Promoting healthy food and beverage consumption

  • Advocating for statewide sugar-sweetened beverage fee

  • Led Community Town Halls with Assm. Burke and Sen. Mitchell to bring over 12,000 residents to dialogue around diabetes prevention

 

Where We Serve

With a core focus on South Los Angeles, We’re growing our national impact. Click to view an interactive map of our program locations.

Where We Serve

Our Board

Board of Directors

Omai Garner, Ph.D.

Omai Garner, Ph.D.

Chair

View Bio
Linda Baum, M.D., Ph.D.

Linda Baum, M.D., Ph.D.

Director

View Bio
Nancy Greenstein, Ed.D

Nancy Greenstein, Ed.D

Director

View Bio
Karen Blackwell

Karen Blackwell

Treasurer

View Bio
Terri Mosqueda

Terri Mosqueda

Secretary

View Bio

Board of Advisors

Antoinette Mongelli

Advisor

View Bio

Ben Allen

Advisor

View Bio

Bowe Kurowski

Advisor

View Bio

Brian Selmo

Advisor

View Bio

Our Staff

Derek Steele

Derek Steele

Executive Director

323.952.7363 x700

dsteele@sjli.org

View Bio
Kimberly Upchurch

Kimberly Upchurch

Associate Director - Houston

kupchurch@sjli.org

View Bio
Angela Johnson Peters

Angela Johnson Peters

Associate Director of Programs and Development

323.952.7363 x701

ajohnsonpeters@sjli.org

View Bio
Jarett Fields

Jarett Fields

Educational Equity Programs Director - Houston

jfields@sjli.org

View Bio
Megan Hayward

Megan Hayward

Director of Development

323.952.7363 x501

View Bio
Gary Hardie, Jr.

Gary Hardie, Jr.

Policy & Advocacy Director

323.952.7363 x401

Ghardie@sjli.org

View Bio
Kevin Lasley

Kevin Lasley

Educational Equity Programs Director

323.952.7363 x201

klasley@sjli.org

View Bio
Jamila McGee

Jamila McGee

Assistant Director of Learning, Training and Curriculum

jmcgee@sjli.org

View Bio
Ashley Loville

Ashley Loville

Health Equity Outreach & Engagement Coordinator

aloville@sjli.org

View Bio
Gabriel Regalado

Gabriel Regalado

Youth Justice Organizer

323.952.7363 x402

View Bio
Nicole Steele

Nicole Steele

Health Equity Programs Director

323.952.7363 x302

nsteele@sjli.org

View Bio
Melissa Echeverry

Melissa Echeverry

Youth Services Program Manager

323.952.7363 x214

mecheverry@sjli.org

View Bio
Olatunde Kosoko

Olatunde Kosoko

Educational Equity Program Manager

323.952.7363 x202

okosoko@sjli.org

View Bio
Jevante Davis

Jevante Davis

Data Assistant

323.952.7363 x503

jdavis@sjli.org

Johnston Ford

Johnston Ford

Academic and Career Services Coordinator

323.952.7363 x213

jford@sjli.org

Kimberly Cortez

Kimberly Cortez

Academic and Career Services Coordinator

323.952.7363 x211

Kcortez@sjli.org

View Bio
Tykeem Brown

Tykeem Brown

Program and Curriculum Coach

323.952.7363 x203

tbrown@sjli.org

Leiloni De Gruy

Leiloni De Gruy

Communications Coordinator

ldegruy@sjli.org

View Bio
Mi'Quael Gray

Mi'Quael Gray

Youth Services Coordinator

mgray@sjli.org

View Bio
Ricardo Govea

Ricardo Govea

Program and Curriculum Coach

rgovea@sjli.org

View Bio
Marcus Pickens

Marcus Pickens

Program and Curriculum Coach

mpickens@sjli.org

View Bio
Tyheem D. Cooper

Tyheem D. Cooper

Program & Curriculum Coach

tcooper@sjli.org

View Bio
Trisden Shaw

Trisden Shaw

Programs and Curriculum Coach

tshaw@sjli.org

View Bio
Molly Katz

Molly Katz

Regional Programs Manager, Special Projects

mkatz@sjli.org

View Bio
Tyrone Cutkelvin

Tyrone Cutkelvin

Director of Special Projects

tcutkelvin@sjli.org

View Bio

Financials + Reports

SJLI’s previous audits and 990’s are provided when SJLI was a project of Community Partners. SJLI current financials are posted reflecting our transition to an independent 501 (c)3 non-profit.

Funders + Partners

To meet our goals, we work alongside youth, residents, local schools, school districts, government entities, foundations and corporations. The following partnerships allow us to develop and manage programs that advance academic, food, environmental, and housing justice.
Partner With Us

Stay Connected