Click to toggle navigation menu.
search
Donate
Learn more about why we're here.
Click to play video.

Our Mission

At the Social Justice Learning Institute, we are dedicated to improving the education, health, and well being of youth and communities of color by empowering them to enact social change through research, training, and community mobilization.

Core Values

  • We privilege the ideas, voice, and leadership of our youth and community members.
  • Everyone must be afforded equal opportunity in order to achieve equitable treatment.
  • We do all things in love.
  • No one is hopeless.

Our Vision

We envision communities where education empowers individuals to use their agency for the purpose of improving each other’s lives.

Our Goals

Our goals are simple. We work to:

  • Educate and empower youth and community members to identify and rectify injustice
  • Build capacity for individuals and communities to advocate for their needs.
  • Deliver effective programs, resources and support that help advance our mission
  • Train and build leaders.

Our Impact

Empowering through Education

3379 Students served through Urban Scholars

91 Percent high school graduation rate

40000 Average scholarship dollars raised per year

Creating Thriving Communities

122 Gardens built in
South Los Angeles

2.2 Million pounds of produce distributed since 2020

45 Food justice partners served

Changing Systems

68002 Contacts made with residents about housing rights

100 Million in Measure J funding secured for equity-focused projects in Los Angeles

100 Million secured for Black Student Achievement through student-led initiatives

Where We Serve

With a core focus on South Los Angeles, We’re growing our national impact. Click to view an interactive map of our program locations.

Where We Serve

Our Board

Board of Directors

Omai Garner, Ph.D.

Omai Garner, Ph.D.

Chair

View Bio
Linda Baum, M.D., Ph.D.

Linda Baum, M.D., Ph.D.

Director

View Bio
Nancy Greenstein, Ed.D

Nancy Greenstein, Ed.D

Director

View Bio
Karen Blackwell

Karen Blackwell

Treasurer

View Bio
Terri Mosqueda

Terri Mosqueda

Secretary

View Bio
David Crippens

David Crippens

Director

View Bio
Victor Leung

Victor Leung

Director

View Bio

Board of Advisors

Antoinette Mongelli

Advisor

View Bio

Ben Allen

Advisor

View Bio

Bowe Kurowski

Advisor

View Bio

Brian Selmo

Advisor

View Bio

Our Staff

Derek Steele

Derek Steele

Executive Director

323.952.7363 x700

dsteele@sjli.org

View Bio
Kimberly Upchurch

Kimberly Upchurch

Regional Director - Houston

kupchurch@sjli.org

View Bio
Angela Johnson Peters

Angela Johnson Peters

National Director of Programs

323.952.7363 x701

ajohnsonpeters@sjli.org

View Bio
Megan Hayward

Megan Hayward

National Development Director

323.952.7363 x501

View Bio
Gary Hardie, Jr.

Gary Hardie, Jr.

Policy and Advocacy Director

323.952.7363 x401

Ghardie@sjli.org

View Bio
Kevin Lasley

Kevin Lasley

Educational Equity Regional Manager

323.952.7363 x201

klasley@sjli.org

View Bio
Ashley Loville

Ashley Loville

Health Equity Programs Manager

aloville@sjli.org

View Bio
Gabriel Regalado

Gabriel Regalado

Youth Justice Manager

323.952.7363 x402

View Bio
Nicole Steele

Nicole Steele

Health Equity Programs Director

323.952.7363 x302

nsteele@sjli.org

View Bio
Jevante Davis

Jevante Davis

Data Coordinator

323.952.7363 x503

jdavis@sjli.org

View Bio
Johnston Ford

Johnston Ford

Academic and Career Services Coordinator

323.952.7363 x213

jford@sjli.org

View Bio
Leiloni De Gruy

Leiloni De Gruy

Communications Coordinator

ldegruy@sjli.org

View Bio
Ricardo Govea

Ricardo Govea

Program and Curriculum Coach

rgovea@sjli.org

View Bio
Marcus Pickens

Marcus Pickens

Program and Curriculum Coach

mpickens@sjli.org

View Bio
Molly Katz

Molly Katz

Educational Equity Regional Manager

mkatz@sjli.org

View Bio
Tyrone Cutkelvin

Tyrone Cutkelvin

Educational Equity Programs Director

tcutkelvin@sjli.org

View Bio
Julius Young

Julius Young

Program and Curriculum Coach

jyoung@sjli.org

View Bio
Lauren Cerda

Lauren Cerda

Program Development and Expansion Associate

lcerda@sjli.org

View Bio
Carmen E. Himes

Carmen E. Himes

Donor Relations and Event Manager

chimes@sjli.org

View Bio
Champagne White

Champagne White

Academic Career and Service Coordinator

cwhite@sjli.org

View Bio
Charles Hall, IV

Charles Hall, IV

Program and Curriculum Coach

chall@sjli.org

View Bio
Sean Sweeney

Sean Sweeney

Policy and Advocacy Outreach Coordinator

ssweeney@sjli.org

View Bio
Rafael Antonio Sanchez

Rafael Antonio Sanchez

Health Equity Programs Assistant

rsanchez@sjli.org

View Bio
Raichel Franklin

Raichel Franklin

Academic and Career Services Coordinator - Houston

rfranklin@sjli.org

View Bio
Georgina Del Carmen Euan

Georgina Del Carmen Euan

College Success Counselor

geuan@sjli.org

View Bio
Lonvis Naulls

Lonvis Naulls

Program and Curriculum Coach - Houston

lnaulls@sjli.org

View Bio
Dylan Gray

Dylan Gray

Program Curriculum Coach

dgray@sjli.org

View Bio
Shelby Richardson

Shelby Richardson

Academic and Career Services Coordinator

sanderson@sjli.org

View Bio
Shawnte Porchia

Shawnte Porchia

Academic and Career Services Coordinator

sporchia@sjli.org

View Bio
Mayra Vasquez

Mayra Vasquez

Academic and Career Services Coordinator

mvasquez@sjli.org

View Bio
Cache Thurman

Cache Thurman

Academic and Career Services Coordinator

cthurman@sjli.org

View Bio
Paul Terry

Paul Terry

Produce Distribution Coordinator

pterry.alumnus@sjli.org

View Bio
Layah Willis

Layah Willis

Development Manager, Institutional Giving

lwillis@sjli.org

View Bio
Lesly Sanchez

Lesly Sanchez

Academic and Career Services Coordinator

lsanchez@sjli.org

View Bio
Miautra Dias

Miautra Dias

Operations and Finance Manager

mdias@sjli.org

View Bio
Alisha Holmes

Alisha Holmes

College Success Counselor - Houston

aholmes@sjli.org

View Bio
Alyska Malveaux

Alyska Malveaux

Higher Pathways Manager - Houston

amalveaux@sjli.org

View Bio
Zola Ezozo

Zola Ezozo

Academic and Career Services Coordinator

Zezozo@sjli.org

View Bio
Jonathan Salgado

Jonathan Salgado

Academic and Career Services Coordinator

jsalgado@sjli.org

View Bio
Rediet Seyoum

Rediet Seyoum

College Success Counselor

rseyoum@sjli.org

View Bio

Financials + Reports

SJLI’s previous audits and 990’s are provided when SJLI was a project of Community Partners. SJLI current financials are posted reflecting our transition to an independent 501 (c)3 non-profit.

Funders + Partners

To meet our goals, we work alongside youth, residents, local schools, school districts, government entities, foundations and corporations. The following partnerships allow us to develop and manage programs that advance academic, food, environmental, and housing justice.
Partner With Us

Stay Connected