Click to toggle navigation menu.
search
Donate

Los Angeles

Programs in Los Angeles

Empowering Through Education

Creating Thriving Communities

Changing Systems

Empowering Through Education
We use education as a tool to empower communities of color to unlock their ability to change their lives and the world around them.
Close
Creating Thriving Communities
We work to transform neighborhood conditions by improving the built environment and expanding access to resources that enable residents to be healthy and thrive.
Close
Changing Systems
We build capacity for community members to identify and rectify injustice and to advocate for policies that address their needs.
Close

OUR IMPACT

  • 2,315Students completed our Urban Scholars program
  • 1.5 Million Pounds of produce distributed since 2020
  • $100 MillionSecured for Black Student Achievement

DONATE TODAY

Your contribution to the Social Justice Learning Institute helps students and community members build knowledge to enact the changes they want to see in themselves as well as in their neighborhoods.

Donate

IN-KIND

In addition to the generous cash contributions SJLI receives, in-kind donations are another way to support youth and families.

Donate

CORPORATE PARTNERSHIPS

Many corporations have found their corporate social responsibility aims and foundation goals align with the impactful and transformative work we engage in at the Social Justice Learning Institute.

Learn More

Our Staff In Los Angeles

Angela Johnson Peters

Angela Johnson Peters

Associate Director of Programs and Development

323.952.7363 x701

ajohnsonpeters@sjli.org

View Bio
Ashley Loville

Ashley Loville

Health Equity Outreach & Engagement Coordinator

aloville@sjli.org

View Bio
Johnston Ford

Johnston Ford

Academic and Career Services Coordinator

323.952.7363 x213

jford@sjli.org

Ricardo Govea

Ricardo Govea

Program and Curriculum Coach

rgovea@sjli.org

View Bio
Derek Steele

Derek Steele

Executive Director

323.952.7363 x700

dsteele@sjli.org

View Bio
Gabriel Regalado

Gabriel Regalado

Youth Justice Organizer

323.952.7363 x402

View Bio
Gary Hardie, Jr.

Gary Hardie, Jr.

Policy & Advocacy Director

323.952.7363 x401

Ghardie@sjli.org

View Bio
Jamila McGee

Jamila McGee

Assistant Director of Learning, Training and Curriculum

jmcgee@sjli.org

View Bio
Jevante Davis

Jevante Davis

Data Assistant

323.952.7363 x503

jdavis@sjli.org

Karen Akinyele

Karen Akinyele

Operations & Finance Coordinator

323.952.7363 x101

kakinyele@sjli.org

Kevin Lasley

Kevin Lasley

Educational Equity Programs Director

323.952.7363 x201

klasley@sjli.org

View Bio
Leiloni De Gruy

Leiloni De Gruy

Communications Coordinator

ldegruy@sjli.org

View Bio
Marcus Pickens

Marcus Pickens

Program and Curriculum Coach

mpickens@sjli.org

View Bio
Megan Hayward

Megan Hayward

Director of Development

323.952.7363 x501

View Bio
Mi'Quael Gray

Mi'Quael Gray

Youth Services Coordinator

mgray@sjli.org

View Bio
Molly Katz

Molly Katz

Regional Programs Manager, Special Projects

mkatz@sjli.org

View Bio
Nicole Steele

Nicole Steele

Health Equity Programs Director

323.952.7363 x302

nsteele@sjli.org

View Bio
Olatunde Kosoko

Olatunde Kosoko

Educational Equity Program Manager

323.952.7363 x202

okosoko@sjli.org

View Bio
Trisden Shaw

Trisden Shaw

Programs and Curriculum Coach

tshaw@sjli.org

View Bio
Tykeem Brown

Tykeem Brown

Program and Curriculum Coach

323.952.7363 x203

tbrown@sjli.org

Tyrone Cutkelvin

Tyrone Cutkelvin

Director of Special Projects

tcutkelvin@sjli.org

View Bio

Volunteer Calendar

Loading Events
Loading Events

May 2022

Events Search and Views Navigation

Find Events

Event Views Navigation

  • There were no results found.

Calendar of Events

Calendar of Events
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Get Involved

Stay Connected

array(0) { }